The Sea Keeper's Daughter


When dreams seem to fall apart, will history give you hope?




Title:  The Sea Keeper's Daughters
Author:  Lisa Wingate
Publisher:  Tyndale House Publishers
Release Date:  September 8, 2015

    


ABOUT THE BOOK

From modern-day Roanoke Island to the sweeping backdrop of North Carolina’s Blue Ridge Mountains and Roosevelt’s WPA folklore writers, past and present intertwine to create an unexpected destiny.

Restaurant owner Whitney Monroe is desperate to save her business from a hostile takeover. The inheritance of a decaying Gilded Age hotel on North Carolina’s Outer Banks may provide just the ray of hope she needs. But things at the Excelsior are more complicated than they seem. Whitney’s estranged stepfather is entrenched on the third floor, and the downstairs tenants are determined to save the historic building. Searching through years of stored family heirlooms may be Whitney’s only hope of quick cash, but will the discovery of an old necklace and a Depression-era love story change everything?

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ 


MY THOUGHTS
The Sea Keeper's Daughters brings in beauty of words and timeless history. It took some time getting into the story as we follow Whitney to the Outer Banks of North Carolina, her home and the location of a family hotel she inherited, the Excelsior. Whitney's a bit stubborn and her perverse approach to keep afloat her restaurant seems a tad insensitive to Denise. However, as a reader reading in, you see and feel her growth. As she dives into her family's history through the heirlooms and letters, she learns what love is, and how God's divine plan is always perfect. 


The dual storyline through the letters captivated me. I kept reading hoping to read yet another one of those letters. Questions popped into my mind asking to be answered, and so I kept reading and reading until the last page.  These characters have haunt my mind since, having to read their love story and journey, and the twist at the end! There's a certain level of melancholy in this story because we're reading about Alice and others after the fact, through a pile of "treasures" that seems to have been forgotten. Even for that, I find the joy in these letters and this story. It's the goodness of people and with God, how dreams can come true, even in another time. 
"If I had doubted that, with divine intervention, a mess can become a miracle, this project is proof. From imperfect offerings, something perfect has been born." (394)

NOTE:  I received a digital ARC through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. For my review policy, please see my Disclosure page. 

TO PURCHASE A COPY

    

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ 


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Selected among Booklist’s Top 10 for two consecutive years, Lisa Wingate skillfully weaves lyrical writing and unforgettable settings with elements of traditional Southern storytelling, history, and mystery to create novels that Publisher's Weekly calls "Masterful" and Library Journal refers to as "A good option for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Mary Alice Monroe." Lisa is a journalist, an inspirational speaker, and the author of twenty-five novels. She is a seven-time ACFW Carol Award nominee, a multiple Christy Award nominee, a twotime Carol Award winner, and a 2015 RT Booklovers Magazine Reviewer’s Choice Award Winner for mystery/suspense. Recently, the group Americans for More Civility, a kindness watchdog organization, selected Lisa along with Bill Ford, Camille Cosby, and six others as recipients of the National Civies Award, which celebrates public figures who work to promote greater kindness and civility in American life. Booklist summed up her work by saying, “Lisa Wingate is, quite simply, a master storyteller.” 

CONNECT WITH LISA:  website, facebook, twitter





CONVERSATION

0 comments:

Post a Comment