The Wedding Shop by Rachel Hauck


Title:  The Wedding Shop
Collection:  The Wedding Collection, Book 3
Series: Heart's Bend, #2
Author:  Rachel Hauck
Publisher:  Zondervan 
Release Date:  August 16, 2016
Genre: Inspirational Contemporary Fiction



Two women separated by decades. Both set out to help others find their dreams when their own have crumbled.

It's the early 1930s, but Cora Scott is walking in stride as a career woman ​after having inherited her great aunt's wedding shop in Heart’s Bend, Tennessee, where brides come from as far away as Birmingham to experience her famed bridal treatment. Meanwhile, Cora is counting down the days until her own true love returns from the river to make her his bride. But days turn into months and months to years. All the while, Birch Good continues to woo Cora and try to show her that while he is solid and dependable, he can sweep her off her feet.

​More than eighty years later, former ​Air Force Captain Haley Morgan has returned home to Heart's Bend after finishing her commitment to military service. After the devastating death of her best friend, Tammy, and discovering the truth about the man she loved, Haley is searching for her place in life.

When Haley decides to reopen the romantic but abandoned wedding shop where she and Tammy played and dreamed as children, she begins a journey of courage, mystery, and love.

As Cora’s and ​Haley's stories intertwine through time in the shadow of the beloved wedding shop, they both discover the power of their own dreams and the magic of everyday love.



Fans of Rachel Hauck's The Wedding Dress and The Wedding Chapel is in for a treat! In the latest novel of The Wedding Collection, The Wedding Shop, we meet again in Heart's Bend, Tennessee and encounter some past characters we'll be happy to see again! Exciting indeed.

Having read The Wedding Chapel, and noting the dual timeline narrative was one of the most well written and my favorite aspect of the book, I'm thrilled that it continues on in The Wedding Shop. And it was just as beautifully done. Cora's story emanates with a painful past while it correlates with Haley's resoundingly. Yet, when things come together, we see the grace and the love of God and the man meant for them. God loves you, despite. God loves you, even though. God loves you, period.



There's something about Rachel's The Wedding Shop, like The Wedding Chapel. It's beautiful, almost serene with a nostalgic type of visual image as I read these novels. Maybe it's the dual timeline or maybe it's just how exquisite the storyline pulls together, giving each woman their piece and creating the parallels between them.

"[It] is like the gospel of Jesus Christ.  It fits everyone...It's timeless, never wears out, and never needs to be altered, always in style and always beautiful." (355)

The gentle touch of love, the strength of God's grace and the endurance of time, The Wedding Shop holds much more than dresses. A story for readers to unravel and to love.




NOTE:  I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own. For my review policy, please see my Disclosure page.


TO PURCHASE A COPY

   



ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Rachel Hauck is an award-winning, best-selling author of critically acclaimed novels such as The Wedding DressLove Starts with Elle, and Once Upon A Prince. She also penned the Songbird Novels with multi-platinum recording artist, Sara Evans.  Booklist named their novel, Softly and Tenderly, one of 2011 Top Ten Inspirationals.  She serves on the Executive Board for American Christian Fiction Writers and is a mentor and book therapist at My Book Therapy, and conference speaker. Rachel lives in central Florida with her husband and pets.

CONNECT WITH RACHEL:  website,  facebook,  twitter



                                                                                                                                                                      


CONVERSATION

4 comments:

  1. I'm so excited about this book. I won it from a blog giveaway, and it just arrived. The cover is beautiful!
    Dianna

    ReplyDelete
  2. Dianna, I agree!!! It's beautiful. Actually, I think the whole collection, their covers and stories are lovely. Nostalgia feel. =)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thank you all so much. I'm deeply touched. Rachel

    ReplyDelete
  4. Glad to read this one is memorable. I read and liked The Wedding Chapel so someday I'll have to read this one too. :)

    ReplyDelete