Blog Tour Schedule & Giveaway: The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber

Welcome to the: Thomas Nelson's Young Adult Summer of 2017 Feature with

 



About the Book

Title:  The Evaporation of Sofi Snow
Series: The Evaporation of Sofi Snow, Book 1
Author:  Mary Weber
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Release Date:  June 6, 2017
Genre: Young Adult Fiction / Sci-Fi

For fans of Ender’s Game and Blade Runner comes a story of video gaming, blood, and power.

Ever since the Delonese ice-planet arrived eleven years ago, Sofi’s dreams have been vivid. Alien. In a system where Earth’s corporations rule in place of governments and the humanoid race orbiting the moon are allies, her only constant has been her younger brother, Shilo. As an online gamer, Sofi battles behind the scenes of Earth’s Fantasy Fighting arena where Shilo is forced to compete in a mix of real and virtual blood sport. But when a bomb takes out a quarter of the arena, Sofi’s the only one who believes Shilo survived. She has dreams of him. And she’s convinced he’s been taken to the ice-planet.

Except no one but ambassadors are allowed there.

For Miguel—Earth’s charming young playboy—the games are of a different sort. As Ambassador to the Delonese, his career has been built on trading secrets and seduction. Until the Fantasy Fight’s bomb goes off. Now the tables have turned and he’s a target for blackmail. The game is simple: Help the blackmailers, or lose more than anyone can fathom, or Earth can afford.

From the award-winning author of the Storm Siren Trilogy, step into a diverse cast of characters spanning from the electric metropolises of earth to the chilling alien planet above, in a story of re-finding yourself in the midst of losing the one thing you love. Before it all evaporates.

Excerpt

Taken from “The Evaporation of Sofi Snow” by Mary Weber Copyright © 2017 by Mary Christine Weber. Used by permission of http://www.thomasnelson.com/.

THE PLANET
The ice-planet arrived in the dusky heat of summer twilight during Earth’s Fourth World War. Just when the moon’s jeweled fingers were slipping through that one broken slat in the barn roof that Papa always said he’d fix but never did. The same slat through which he’d pointed out Ella’s favorite star to Sofi and her brother, Shilo.

As if everything within Papa’s wrecked heart was trying to keep their focus off Earth’s brutality by reminding them of their half sister’s spot in the heavenly skies. As if their forsaken little hearts needed any reminding of where her spot—or their mother’s—should be.

“Shh.” Papa put a finger to his lips and beckoned Sofi over to watch the planet settle in place. “I won’t let anyone harm you. See how it’s moving across the moon?”

Six-year-old Sofi mimicked him to her brother, putting her own finger to her lips. “Shh. They’re coming, Shi, but we won’t let them harm you.” To which baby Shilo spit and giggled before swatting at a firefly.

Sofi pulled his tiny hand into hers as the sinister globe stopped a good distance beyond the moon—and

Uncomfortably too close to Earth. To them. To their little broken-slatted barn that sat planted like a patch of sumac right on the decimated border of Old North Carolina and the rest of the starving, war-ravaged world.

“Planet Delon” the broadcasters had called it.

“The Delonese Death” was what her expatriate neighbor, Mr. Watte, was calling it.

“The blasted planet from the pit of you know where” was what Sofi had decided to call it . . .

That had been years ago.

Eleven to be exact.

But now here she was . . .

Standing in the same place, same barn—just missing a few walls—with Shilo.

Still calling it that.

A sudden rustling emerged from the overgrown bushes, causing Sofi to glance around.

“You think it’s the tech buyer?” Shilo’s twelve-year-old voice cracked mid whisper.

She peered into the dark. “I don’t know, but if I tell you to run for the hover, you run.”

He looked insulted. “And ditch? More like I’ll kick whoever’s sorry bu—”

A boy emerged. Two boys in fact, each barely older than she was. Clearly drugged up. Skin and bones. Like many in the populations being “overseen” by the United World Corporations. The bigger kid held out a broken-tipped knife and Shilo slid in front of Sofi—never mind she was half-a-head taller than her brother.

Sofi scowled. She shouldn’t have let him coerce her into bringing him. Especially for the thrill of earning a few extra bucks off her old tech devices.

DEAL - The Publisher, Thomas Nelson offered this PREORDER Deal, the first 50 to send a receipt of the preorder of The Evaporation of Sofi Snow will get a special swag bag!! Hurry, by June 6th only!!



TO PURCHASE A COPY OR ADD IT ON GOODREADS

  
  

About the Author
Mary Weber is a ridiculously uncoordinated girl plotting to take over make-believe worlds through books, handstands, and imaginary throwing knives. In her spare time, she feeds unicorns, sings 80’s hairband songs to her three muggle children, and ogles her husband who looks strikingly like Wolverine. They live in California, which is perfect for stalking L.A. bands, Joss Whedon, and the ocean.

CONNECT WITH MARY:  website ⎸ facebook ⎸twitter ⎸instagram


Tour Schedule

5/15 - Reading is My SuperPower (review)
5/16 - Thorn & Vine (review) & A Baker's Perspective (review)
5/17 - My So Called Chaos (review) & Between the Pages of This Bookish Life (Spotlight)
5/18 - Bibliophile Reviews (Review),  Singing Librarian Books (Spotlight) & Thinking Thoughts (Spotlight)
5/19 - Bookworm Mama (review) & YA Book Divas (Spotlight & Excerpt)
5/20 - Just Commonly (review)


Giveaway

(3) Winners will each win a finished hard copy of The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber, courtesy of Thomas Nelson Publishers. Giveaway ends on May 26, 2017, 11:59 PM EST.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

                                                                                                                                        


CONVERSATION

14 comments:

  1. The writing in the excerpt is amazing! So rich and sensory. This is already on my TBR and will be fun to read.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree! The excerpt itself is wonderful!! Thanks!

      Delete
  2. I won Mary Weber's Storm Siren trilogy on your blog recently and it would be really neat to have another one of her books to read! :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. YAY! This was a good one! Happy to be a part of the tour!

    ReplyDelete
  4. This book looks great. Looking forward to reading it. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay! Hope you will get to read it soon and enjoy it!

      Delete