Book Review & Giveaway: The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber


". . . sometimes I hate all the death. It makes my soul tired."


Welcome to the: Thomas Nelson's Young Adult Summer of 2017 Feature with

The Evaporation of Sofi Snow

Title:  The Evaporation of Sofi Snow
Series: The Evaporation of Sofi Snow, Book 1
Author:  Mary Weber
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Release Date:  June 6, 2017
Genre: Young Adult Fiction / Sci-Fi

For fans of Ender’s Game and Blade Runner comes a story of video gaming, blood, and power.

Ever since the Delonese ice-planet arrived eleven years ago, Sofi’s dreams have been vivid. Alien. In a system where Earth’s corporations rule in place of governments and the humanoid race orbiting the moon are allies, her only constant has been her younger brother, Shilo. As an online gamer, Sofi battles behind the scenes of Earth’s Fantasy Fighting arena where Shilo is forced to compete in a mix of real and virtual blood sport. But when a bomb takes out a quarter of the arena, Sofi’s the only one who believes Shilo survived. She has dreams of him. And she’s convinced he’s been taken to the ice-planet.


Except no one but ambassadors are allowed there.

For Miguel—Earth’s charming young playboy—the games are of a different sort. As Ambassador to the Delonese, his career has been built on trading secrets and seduction. Until the Fantasy Fight’s bomb goes off. Now the tables have turned and he’s a target for blackmail. The game is simple: Help the blackmailers, or lose more than anyone can fathom, or Earth can afford.

From the award-winning author of the Storm Siren Trilogy, step into a diverse cast of characters spanning from the electric metropolises of earth to the chilling alien planet above, in a story of re-finding yourself in the midst of losing the one thing you love. Before it all evaporates.

My Thoughts

Speechless. OK, maybe a little more than speechless. Like "What?!!" I actually doubled checked to make sure I wasn't missing a page or anything. Yep. The first book in this new series by Mary Weber, The Evaporation of Sofi Snow ends with a major cliffhanger.  Cliffhanger makes me sad. It gets me angry. It makes me want to sought out the author right away and tell her, "how could you do this?!! When will book 2 be out?!" Instead, I held my tongue and my urge to bombard her on social media. Simply because I trust the author. I trust that the author of The Storm Siren Trilogy knows how to write and give me a story that completes what she started. So back to Sofi Snow. 

The Evaporation of Sofi Snow was on my radar the moment I heard about it, simply because of the author. Then when the cover came out, I just knew that I had to read it. And read it I did. Despite the cliffhanger, this is one fantastic read. If you're into the sci-fi or high fantasy genre, you will enjoy this. Fans of this genre will most likely fall in love with the world the author had built. The use of high-tech systems and video gaming references, and add in the sci-fi elements of aliens and artificial intelligence, brings this game/book to a whole new level.

In terms of characters, both our main characters, Sofi and Miguel were well developed. Both complicated with so many layers for readers to discover. Sofi's intelligent, resourceful, loyal and witty, while Miguel is a combination of mischievous and charming. Both great characters for readers to really side with. However, I have some hesitation on the many choices of these characters, particularly Sofi from what we've read. The ease of her decisions would not be something I particularly want to highlight in a novel for teens. Despite that as well, I trust the author to address it in a meaningful and explain the significance of Sofi's choices. I think with the last few scenes in this book, there are already some of that at play or it could just be my mind playing tricks on me.  The romance was pretty intense on the emotional level early on.

"The soft bloom of a love barely formed and the permanent reminder he'd plucked it and toss it aside like a cad.."

The sibling relationship between Sofi and Shilo is the crux of what brings everything together, but readers will pick up the many themes and messages that gives The Evaporation of Sofi Snow substance. Messages that relates to relationships - romance, sibling and parent/child will hit home to many of us on a personal level, but on a broad scope, human trafficking and political atmosphere frame this world that Mary Weber so thoughtfully created. It's subtle enough that some hoping for a lighter fare won't catch on, but for those that love to dig deeper, its presence's known.

Fast paced from the get go, The Evaporation of Sofi Snow brings readers on an intense ride. You may even feel like you're in the middle of a high stake fantasy video game. You'll wonder along with Sofi who can you trust in the world, even if the person is close to you. With underlying messages that relates more closely to the real world, this will be one story you won't be able to get it out of your head, at least until the next one's out.

". . . but if her weirdness had caught him, it was her innocence that stole him."


Disclaimer: I received an ARC of this book from the author/publisher. I was not required to write a positive review, and have not been compensated for this. This is my honest opinion.

Please note, quotes were taken from an advance reader copy, and therefore an uncorrected proof. Please do not reuse quotes unless verified with the released copy. Thank you.

For my review policy, please see my Disclosure page.

DEAL - The Publisher, Thomas Nelson offered this PREORDER Deal, the first 50 to send a receipt of the preorder of The Evaporation of Sofi Snow will get a special swag bag!! Hurry, by June 6th only!!



TO PURCHASE A COPY OR ADD IT ON GOODREADS

  
  

About the Author
Mary Weber is a ridiculously uncoordinated girl plotting to take over make-believe worlds through books, handstands, and imaginary throwing knives. In her spare time, she feeds unicorns, sings 80’s hairband songs to her three muggle children, and ogles her husband who looks strikingly like Wolverine. They live in California, which is perfect for stalking L.A. bands, Joss Whedon, and the ocean.

CONNECT WITH MARY:  website  facebook │ twitter │ instagram


Tour Schedule

5/15 - Reading is My SuperPower (review)
5/16 - Thorn & Vine (review) & A Baker's Perspective (review)
5/17 - My So Called Chaos (review) & Between the Pages of This Bookish Life (Spotlight)
5/18 - Bibliophile Reviews (Review),  Singing Librarian Books (Spotlight) & Thinking Thoughts (Spotlight)
5/19 - Bookworm Mama (review) & YA Book Divas (Spotlight & Excerpt)
5/20 - Just Commonly (review)


Giveaway

(3) Winners will each win a finished hard copy of The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber, courtesy of Thomas Nelson Publishers. Giveaway ends on May 26, 2017, 11:59 PM EST.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

                                                                                                                                        


CONVERSATION

16 comments:

  1. Thank you for the chance. Enjoy reading your review. Sounds great.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Cliffhanger!!! I totally need to read this... but maybe I should wait until at least the second one comes out?!?!? (I did that with the Storm Siren Series, and SO glad I did because I totally needed the next book IMMEDIATELY after reading the first!)

    Thanks for the heads up about the cliffhanger ending (although, I'm not supersized)! I'll probably still read this book the first chance I get (wither or not the next book is out;)!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hahahh. I know what you mean. But I was like that about The Storm Siren (book 1) and was in LOVE by book 2 - 3. So I still preordered it!

      Delete
  3. This book looks so amazing. There are so many incredible books coming out lately, I've got too many to get ahold of!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hahahah. Welcome to the never ending TBR group! *wink wink

      Delete
  4. Replies
    1. Yep yep!! I wonder when book 2 will be out??!! like EARLY out for us reviewers to get our hands on!!

      Delete
  5. I've been meaning to try her other series. Think I'll try that one first!
    Jen @ YA Romantics

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. O Jen! Based on your reviews, I think you'll really enjoy Mary's books! I REALLY loved The Storm Siren Trilogy!

      Delete
  6. Oh, good gracious - I think I'm going to go nuts if I don't get this book soon. I may or may not have to buy it :D. Thanks for the awesome post!

    ~ Savannah @ Scattered Scribblings

    ReplyDelete
  7. I'm not the only sci-fi/fantasy reader in my house so this sounds like an excellent choice for this summer's reading list. I love that this author can create a believable world with excellent characters too. The family relationship part makes this book sounds even better. And yes to cliffhangers--I love them!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Really?! You like cliffhangers?! They make me cringe with excitement for what's to come..so i have a love/hate relationship with it!

      Delete
  8. I put this on my wishlist. I've seen it on several book blogs, and it looks amazing.
    Dianna

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Dianna! It is! Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete