Book Review: The Café by the Sea by Jenny Colgan, NYT bestselling author of The Bookshop on the Corner

Title:  The Café by the Sea
Author: Jenny Colgan
Publisher: William Morrow, imprint of HarperCollins
Release Date:  June 27, 2017
Genre: Contemporary Fiction

The beloved author of The Bookshop on the Corner returns with a sparkling, sunny, soulful new novel perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand.

Years ago, Flora fled the quiet Scottish island where she grew up — and she hasn’t looked back. What would she have done on Mure? It’s a place where everyone has known her all her life, where no one will let her forget the past. In bright, bustling London, she can be anonymous, ambitious… and hopelessly in love with her boss.

But when fate brings Flora back to the island, she’s suddenly swept once more into life with her brothers — all strapping, loud, and seemingly incapable of basic housework — and her father. Yet even amid the chaos of their reunion, Flora discovers a passion for cooking — and find herself restoring dusty little pink-fronted shop on the harbour: a café by the sea.

But with the seasons changing, Flora must come to terms with past mistakes — and work out exactly where her future lies…

Funny and heartfelt, The Café by the Sea is a delightful summertime novel that puts a modern twist on the classic Seven Brides for Seven Brothers story.

The Cafe by the Sea is the first Jenny Colgan book I've read. I've heard of her highly acclaimed, The Bookshop on the Corner, so I was happy to give her latest a try. I have to admit, the rather eccentric characters can be a hit or miss for many readers, and in this story, I felt it also was a hit or miss. In some areas, I think it worked brilliantly, mainly towards the early to mid section of the novel, but in others, it felt forced or even a tad bit over the top. That said, I still enjoyed the family dynamics that was every bit chaotic, yet still brings a certain level of warmth when we read about families that can resolve their issues and come together. Not all the characters feel consistent in their overall personality, but still manage to attract readers with the story and their little nuances.  In all, I'm not sure if The Cafe by the Sea is my cup of tea, but I'm sure it will definitely appeal to many readers, especially fans of the author's or Erin Hilderbrand and Meg Donohue. 


For my clean readers, this book contains some intimacy.  
Disclaimer: I received an ARC of this book from the author/publisher. I was not required to write a positive review, and have not been compensated for this. This is my honest opinion.
For my review policy, please see my Disclosure page.

TO PURCHASE A COPY 

    




Jenny Colgan is the New York Times-bestselling author of numerous novels, including The Bookshop on the Corner, Little Beach Street Bakery, and Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery, all international bestsellers. Jenny is married with three children and lives in London and Scotland.

TO CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR:  website,  facebook,  twitter


Check out the full tour schedule for more information! Click on the image below to take you there.
                                                                                                                                          



CONVERSATION

1 comments:

  1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this book for the tour.

    ReplyDelete