Sins of the Past Review + Giveaway

Title:  Sins of the Past
Author: Dee Hendersen, Dani Pettrey, Lynette Eason
Publisher:  Bethany House
Release Date:  May 3, 2016
Genre:  Christian Fiction /Romantic Suspense

Three Novellas from Bestselling Authors

In Dee Henderson's "Missing," a Wyoming sheriff is called to Chicago when his elderly mother goes missing. Paired with a savvy Chicago cop, the two realize her disappearance is no accident, and a race against the clock begins.

Dani Pettrey returns to Alaska with "Shadowed," introducing readers to the parents of her beloved McKenna clan. Adventure, romance, and danger collide when a young fisherman nets the body of an open-water swimming competitor who may actually be a possible Russian defector.

Lynette Eason's "Blackout" delivers the story of a woman once implicated in a robbery gone wrong. The loot has never been found--but her memory of that night has always been unreliable. Can she remember enough to find her way to safety when the true culprit comes after her?

Missing is the first story I've read from Dee Henderson and I would say it won't be my last. I know I've said this before, but it's true. Dee has a way of getting readers invested in the characters, including the victim's lives. I wanted to know what happened and even after what we may have thought as the close, there's still unfinished suspense that catches you on, elevating your common sense and rationality to ask the right questions. Thought provoking good. Though there's not much action scenes, what have us engrossed is the mother-son relationship. Are we talking with our parents enough? Or are we taking them for granted? Missing. Good.

Shadowed by Dani Pettrey had me guessing from the start. It's set in Alaska, June of 1979 giving me a whole new adventure.  I love this story and even though it's a novella, the suspense was not downplayed. It was full on. Finding out the outcome and hearing about the past of these characters makes me want to jump right into Dani's Alaskan Courage series about the other McKennas. And I love the meaning from "I > waves."

Blackout by Lynette Eason was just as filled with questions and suspense as Dee's & Dani's respective stories. Having had experience with memory loss due to an accident, I can relate to the fuzziness and anxieties associated with it.  Macey's memory loss seems to be much more ominous with the meaning behind and how crucial it is to live her life pass the traumatic events leading to it. Lynette is already on my author to read list after reading her Always Watching, so I'm not surprised by how well Blackout is.  I'm looking forward to her other books for sure!

In all, Sins of the Past dealt with these characters' past that haunts them in more ways than one, and how facing them may be the only way to seek resolution. This collection is my first novella collection in the romantic suspense genre, and I must say, I'm thoroughly impressed, and I think you will too!

In celebration of Sins of the Past release, Bethany House have put together a Mystery & Mayhem Tour.  And unfortunately, one of the key characters in Dani and Lynette's novels was kidnapped by Anonymous.  Help Dani and Lynette save the victim and find Anonymous before it's too late! Join the fun. Clues are on each stop! Click on the image below for the full scoop!

NOTE:  I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher, Bethany House for an honest review.  All opinions expressed are my own. For my review policy, please see my Disclosure page.



Dani Pettrey is a wife, mom, grandma, and the author of Cold Shot, the first book in the Chesapeake Valor series, and the Alaskan Courage romantic suspense series, which includes her bestselling novels Submerged, Shattered,Stranded, Silenced, and Sabotaged. Her books have been honored with the Daphne du Maurier award, two HOLT Medallions, a Christy Award nomination, two National Readers’ Choice Awards, the Gail Wilson Award of Excellence, and Christian Retailing’s Best Award, among others.

She feels blessed to write inspirational romantic suspense because it incorporates so many things she loves—the thrill of adventure, nail-biting suspense, the deepening of her characters’ faith, and plenty of romance. She and her husband reside in Maryland, where they enjoy time with their two daughters, a son-in-law, and a super adorable grandson.

TO CONNECT WITH DANI:  website,  facebook,  twitter

Lynette Eason is the best selling, award winning author of the Women of Justice Series, the Deadly Reunions series, Hidden Identity series and the newly releasing Elite Guardians series. She writes for Revell and Harlequin’s Love Inspired Suspense line. Her books have appeared on the CBA and ECPA bestseller lists. She has won several awards including the 2013 Carol Award for WHEN A HEART STOPS in the Romantic Suspense category. Lynette teaches at writing conferences all over the country. She is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) and Romance Writers of America (RWA). 

TO CONNECT WITH LYNETTE:  website,  facebook,  twitter

So, this past weekend, I had the pleasure of meeting both Dani & Lynette at their book signing event.  In celebration, I grabbed a copy of Sins of the Past for one of my readers, and had them signed!  Yes, the May giveaway on Just Commonly is a signed copy of Sins of the Past!!! Woohoo!! Are you just as excited as I am???  If yes, click on the image below to take you to the entry page.  




Post a Comment

Thank you for commenting. If you don't have any of the accounts listed in the pull down menu, just comment using "Anonymous" and put your name/nickname in the comment. Happy reading!