Where Hope Prevails, Conclusion of Return to the Canadian West by Janette Oke & Laurel Oke Logan

Title:  Where Hope Prevails
Series: Return to the Canadian West
Author: Janette Oke & Laurel Oke Logan
Publisher:  Bethany House
Release Date:  August 2, 2016
Genre: Inspirational Historical Fiction

She leans forward for her first glimpse of the little mountain town that has captured her heart, but something has changed.

Elizabeth Thatcher's highly anticipated return to her beloved Coal Valley after a long summer with her family back east is filled with surprises . . . and not all of them good ones, in her estimation. Maybe the worst one of all relates to her treasured students. Can she adapt and learn to cope with this enormous change?

Her Mountie, Jarrick Thornton, hasn't yet proposed, but she already knows what her answer will be. His duties take him away from the valley much too often, in her view, but the two of them, with patience and understanding--and one significant misunderstanding--are learning to know each other better. 

The dark cloud looming on the horizon in Beth's mind, though, is filled with questions about where their future might take them. As a member of the RCMP, Jarrick is stationed wherever his superiors send him . . . but what about her teaching position in Coal Valley?

Beth attempts to do her best with each obstacle she faces, but does she rightly assess each situation as it surfaces? Good intentions don't always lead to good results. . . .

A companion story to Hallmark Channel's When Calls the Heart TV series

Ahhhh. That's how one feels when a there's a satisfying conclusion to a beloved series. 

A sweet conclusion that wrapped things up, yet not in a way that left it feeling rushed nor dismissed. Beth's and Jarrett's story continues to blossom, and they learn much more about each other, and themselves. I love the growth and development in the whole series of the characters, especially of Beth, from a somewhat spoiled rich girl, to someone that relies on her faith and trust in God. The romance was lovely, but I've always enjoyed the journey of the town, and its people the most. The relationships throughout have a special place in my heart, and then from the beginning, we (and Beth) are thrown in a frenzy with all the change happening! Change and the aftermaths of change, be it good or disheartening, how these characters accept (or deny) and carry on, that's what makes this last installment riveting to say the least. It was a good and lovely goodbye. 

NOTE:  I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for an honest review.  All opinions expressed are my own. For my review policy, please see my Disclosure page.



Janette Oke
Bestselling author Janette Oke is celebrated for her significant contribution to the Christian book industry. Her novels have sold more than thirty million copies, and she's the recipient of the ECPA President's Award, the CBA Life Impact Award, the Gold Medallion, and the Christy Award. Janette and her husband, Edward, live in Alberta, Canada.

Laurel Oke Logan
Laurel Oke Logan, daughter of Edward and Janette Oke, is the author of Janette Oke: A Heart for the Prairie, as well as the novels Dana's Valley, Where Courage Calls, and Where Trust Lies, which she co-wrote with her mom. Laurel's growing family includes six children, their spouses, and three grandsons.




Thank you for commenting. If you don't have any of the accounts listed in the pull down menu, just comment using "Anonymous" and put your name/nickname in the comment. Happy reading!